4 Best Wound Care Certification for Physicians

Wound Care Certification for Physicians

Wound care may sound like the most basic skill a medical practitioner should have. However, wound care is a complex aspect of modern medicine.

If you work in wound care or are considering shifting to the department, it makes perfect sense to get certified. This is because certified wound care experts are in great demand.

Studies have shown the lack of skilled physicians in the wound care industry. They are frequently unable to manage the challenges presented by chronic wounds.

Wound management is commonly included in medical training programs, but advanced wound care certification provides specialized knowledge beyond general practice.

Medical practitioners should get certified in wound care because it provides standardized and effective wound treatment training.

Who Should Get Wound Care Certification

Any physician who is required to treat wounds regularly should enroll in a board-approved wound care certification program.

During the certification, you will get comprehensive training in treating and managing different types of wounds.

You will also get additional training to ensure you are properly trained and certified.

4 Best Wound Care Certification for Physicians

There are several different types of wound care certifications for physicians in the US. The first step towards receiving wound care certification is significant experience in a particular specialty.

Apart from this, you should also have more than fundamental wound care knowledge.

Every wound care certification program has different requirements and prerequisites.

Let’s take a look at some of the more prominent and popular wound care certifications for physicians:

1 – Wound Care Certification (WCC)

The Wound Care Certification (WCC) is designed for healthcare professionals with wound care experience. Eligibility may include specific educational and professional experience requirements.

Clinicians from all disciplines, specialties, and educational levels can take the training for this certification exam.

Apart from physicians, the other medical professionals who can take the WCC exam are:

  • Nurses
  • Physiotherapists
  • Registered dieticians
  • Occupational therapists

To prepare for this course, you can choose to undergo training in skin and wound management from this link https://www.wcei.net/courses/skin-wound-management/onsite-course.

2 – Ostomy Management Specialist (OMS)

The Ostomy Management Specialist (OMS) training is also open to physicians and other clinicians.

This wound care certification exam is best suited for those who regularly work with Ostomy patients.

The Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nursing Certification Board (WOCNCB) offers the Wound Ostomy Certified Nurse (WOCN) certification, which requires a registered nurse license and specialized education in wound, ostomy, and continence nursing, not just a bachelor’s degree.

To learn more about this wound care certification for physicians, you can visit the official website at http://www.wocncb.org/certification/wound-ostomy-continence/eligibility.

3 – Diabetes Wound Certification (DWC)

The Diabetes Wound Certification (DWC) training is for physicians and healthcare workers who regularly work with diabetic patients.

This course teaches the intricacies of treating wounds in those suffering from diabetes.

This wound care certification for physicians requires the candidates to first take the Diabetes Wound Management Course.

Once this is completed successfully, you can apply to appear for the diabetes wound certification (DWC) exam.

In case you rarely work with diabetic patients, then you can choose to take a basic wound care certification (WCC) exam.

However, if the majority of your patients are diabetic, then it is advisable to take the diabetes wound certification (DWC) test.

To learn more about the diabetes wound management course, you can simply click on this link https://www.wcei.net/courses/diabetic-wound-management/onsite-course.

4 – Nutrition and Wound Certification (NWC)

The Skin and Wound Management Course is aimed at registered dietitians (RD) and dietician nutritionists (RDN). This is an excellent way to prepare for your board exams.

Completing the wound management course and fulfilling other requirements will prepare you to take the Nutrition Wound Care Certified (NWCCTM) examination.

For accurate and updated information on wound care certification, it’s recommended to directly visit the official websites of certifying bodies like the National Alliance of Wound Care and Ostomy (NAWCO) or the Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nursing Certification Board (WOCNCB).

What are the Fees for Physicians Getting Wound Care Certification?

The cost of taking a wound care certification exam ranges between $380 and $995. The total cost will depend on the particular certification exam you choose.

It also depends on your chosen delivery format and whether you are new to WCEI or earning your second certification.

In addition, upon completing the course, you might be charged a registration fee and an exam fee.

It is highly advised to visit the examination board’s official website to learn details of eligibility criteria, enrollment process, total fees, etc.


Wound care certification for physicians is an excellent way to enhance their clinical skills and ensure broader healthcare services for their patients.

Hence, if you wish to expand the clinical services you offer and earn more, you should choose to take the wound care exams for clinicians.

See Also

MBA Programs for Physicians

ICD 10 Coding Training for Physicians

How to Deal With Needle Phobic Patients

Books for Physicians

Echo Training for Physicians

How to Become a Sports Medicine Physician

How to Deal With Rude Patients

Qualities in a Doctor

Current Version
March 5, 2022
Written By
Shubham Grover
March 25, 2024
Updated By
Andrea Morales G.

Follow us